Stephen and Tony

The New Mayor of Looe

Looe Town Council has a new Mayor!  Councillor Tony Smith accepted the role at last nights Mayor Making Ceremony at the Guildhall, a ceremony which dates back to the 18th century, the chains were handed over from Councillor Edwina Hannaford to Councillor Tony Smith, Councillor Stephen Remington was elected to the role of Deputy Mayor.

The council paid tribute to Edwina’s long and distinguished contribution to the town and people of Looe, as Mayor, Councillor and Cornwall Councillor.

In her last act as Mayor,  Cllr Hannaford gave out awards and cheques to various to local individuals and organisations that serve the town,  the Mayors chosen charity for the year has been the Boundless Trust, who were presented with a well deserved cheque for £3686 to support their work.


Boundless Trust


The citizen of the year for 2022/23 was awarded to Sally Thornley and the organisation of the year was awarded to Looe Lions. The Town Burgess was awarded to Jimmy Dingle.


Citizen of the year    Organisation of the year j dingle Maces


There were various other donations to such deserving organisations as: Looe Lions,  Age Concern,  Barbican pre-school, Darby & Joan Club, Ellies Haven, Old Guildhall Museum & Gaol, Looe Community Academy PTA,  Looe Pioneers,  Looe Primary Academy PTA,  Looe Rifle and Pistol Club,  Looe Rowing & Gig Club,  Looe Sailing Club,   Looe Town Football Club,  Looe Bowling Club,  Looe Community Memory Café,  Royal British Legion,  St Pinnock Band,  Cinema by the Sea, Friends of Kilminorth Woods,  Looe Allotments and community Garden Association,  Looe and District U3A,  West Looe Playgroup,  Looe in Bloom,  Looe Valley Rotary Club,  Looe Marine cons group and Looe Shedders.


Awards presented to those absent:

Looe Royal British Legion
Looe Community Academy
Cinema by the Sea
Looe Marine Conservation Group


Looe Rowing & Gig Club accepted their donation and were applauded for their amazing success at recently winning the world championship in Scilly for the 4th year in a row!


Looe Rowing      St Pinnock Band


Jason from St Pinnock’s Band.


Councillor Hannaford then went on to welcome two new Cllrs,  Cllr Chris Harwood and Cllr Jasper Graham-Jones and thanked all officers and the locum Clerk at Looe Town Council for their hard work and dedication.